Home / Winners


We are proud to announce the winners of our National Young Artists Competition

Congratulations to the 2018 winners of our National Young Artists Competition!

College Winds

First Place: Cornelia Sommer (bassoon)
Honorable Mention: Clara Mannino (flute)

    College Piano

    First Place: Inyoung Kim

    College Strings

    First Place: Chris Gokelman (viola)

    High School Instrumental

    First Place: Jenna Tu (piano)
    First Place: Tabitha Mason (violin)
    Honorable Mention: Jacques Forestier (violin)
    Honorable Mention: Carson Ling-Efird (cello)

    College Vocals

    First Place: Rebecca Parkinson (mezzo soprano)

    Professional Vocals

    First Place: Colleen Cole (soprano)
    Second Place: Alex Hollerman (mezz0 soprano)


    Congratulations to the 2016 winners of our National Young Artists Competition!


    Colleges Winds
    First Place: Laura Pillman (University of North Texas)
    Second Place: Robert Wakeley (University of Oregon)
    Honorable Mention: Julian Bohorquez (Lamont School of Music at DU)

    Robert Wakeley will perform in March if Laura Pillman is not able to make it.

    College Piano
    First Place: Brenda Miller (University of Puget Sound)
    Honorable Mention: Anneliese Autry (Washington State University)

    College Strings
    First Place: Sarah Hall (Private Study- Arlington, WA)
    Honorable Mention: Joseph Rebman (University of Cincinnati)
    Honorable Mention: Sarah Harmsworth (University of Montana)

    High School Instrumental
    First Place: Yesong Sophie Lee (Heatherwood Middle School- Mill Creek, WA)
    First Place: Edison Tsai (Portland State University- Tigard, OR))
    Second Place: Evan Johanson (Roosevelt High School- Seattle, WA)
    Second Place: Kayla Yagi-Bacon (Northshore Junior High- Bothell, WA)

    Second Place winners in this category are invited to perform with the Symphony for our summer concert in August.

    College Vocals
    First Place: Sarah Cooper (Westminster Choir College)
    Honorable Mention: Emily Skeen (Portland State University)

    Professional Vocals
    First Place: Tasha Koontz (San Diego, CA)
    Second Place: Christina Pezzarossi (Boulder, CO)
    Honorable Mention: Ibidunni Ojikutu (Blaine, WA)

    Christina Pezzarossi will perform in March if Tasha Koontz is not able to make it.


    Congratulations to the 2015 winners of our National Young Artists Competition!


    High School

    1st Place: Nathan Kim, piano (Newberg OR) and Adrian Steele, violin (Seattle, WA)
    2nd Place: Bronwyn James, violin (Seattle WA)
    Honorable Mention: Mary Bielle, cello (Calgary AL) and Takumi Taguchi, violin (Bellvue, WA)

    College – Winds, Brass, & Percussion

    1st Place: Mona Sangesland, flute UW
    Honorable Mention: Michael Barnes, marimba Univ of Oklahoma and Hae Sol Hur, Clarinet Eastman School of Music

    College – Piano

    1st Place: Yuet Ka “Keri” Hui (USC)
    2nd Place: Eva Schaumkell (USC)

    College – Strings

    1st Place: Thomas Cooper, violin (Oberlin Conservatory)
    2nd Place Timothy Angel, violin (Univ of Texas)
    Honorable Mention: Yue Qian, Violin (USC)

    College – Vocals

    1st Place: Meagan Seuber, soprano (Oklahoma City University)

    Professional – Vocals

    1st Place: Caitlin Cisler, soprano (Missoula, MT)